Potty Mouth Indie

You know, the longer I listen to Indie music, the more I realize that listening to an Indie album is about the complete experience. You don’t buy an album for one song…you want to put the album in and listen to the whole thing.

But then again, the more I listen to Indie, the more I realize that Indie bands take advantage of their non-mainstream status to take liberty with curious language and the vocabulary that doesn’t exactly make SAT lists. Potty talk. It may not bother most people, but I have to say, it bothers me. While Indie songs parade some of the most interesting and creative lyrics, I find it ironic that so many of these innovative lyrics feature the most un-original language in English. I like to enjoy an album without having to wince while listening to it…

Here’s a few albums that have spawned this tangent:

1. Guster: Ganging up on the Sun. I am a huge Guster fan, but on its latest CD, they drop the F word for no reason whatsoever on one of their best tracks: Manifest Destiny.

2. Bright Eyes: I’m Wide Awake, it’s Morning. So, Bright Eyes isn’t exactly known for clean language, but this album really bugged me. The songs are deep, emotional, powerful, and fantastic. It’s too bad that the language is so profane.

3. Okkervil River: Stage Names: My most recent annoyance. Some of the songs are simply brilliant, especially John Allyn Smith Sails…I just have one question for Okkervil River: Can’t you find something ELSE that rhymes with “class”?

Either way, I know I’m not in the majority on my opinion on this one, but I had to vent.

Leave a Reply

