Living la Vida Indie in Chicago

Ok, so it’s been about a week since I blogged last. Well, I have a good excuse: I spent the week in Chicago speaking at a conference on journalism and mass communication (for which one of my presentations will be on YouTube soon…I’ll post later).

When I go to conferences, I like to take a break and sightsee…looking for fun, lesser-known places to enjoy. It’s part of the indie lifestyle, I guess. This time, however, someone living the Indie lifestyle found me. As I was walking down “Magnificent Mile” a young woman with a pen and a pad of paper stopped me and blurted out, “I’m writing a poem and I need a line–What are you waiting for?” Stunned by this, the only thing I could say was “I’m waiting to go home.” Her response, “Perfect!” and she walked off…

Reflecting on it the rest of the day, I couldn’t help but think: that was the most random thing I have ever seen. Kudos to the pedestrian-accosting, poem-girl.

Leave a Reply

