A smattering of good online Indie

I may be in the throws of writing a dissertation…(yes, I have a life outside of Indie)…but that doesn’t mean I can’t offer up a few online treats I’ve found. Here’s the music that’s been helping me stay up at night to write*:

Brett Dennen: Ain’t No Reason. I’m not usually a big fan of singer-songwriter Indie-types, but this Brett-guy matches his unique voice with a simple style that is really hard to not like. (on a side note, I think this guy should have been doing the blues-y singles on the Twilight Soundtrack, instead of Rob “Edward Cullen” Pattinson].

Black Gold – Detroit. Nothing short of the hallmarks of fast-paced indie-synth rock. The chorus and vocal stylings are downright addicting.

British Sea Power: Atom. Just because it sounds like nearly every other Brit-pop rock piece doesn’t mean it’s not good.

Nicole Atkins: Carouselle. I’m sorry, I’m a sucker for jazzy piano riffs, even if they can be hokie and predictable at times.

Zee Avi: Slow Hands (Interpol Cover). You know what I like about Indie artists? They’ve got the guts to do a cover of a song that’s still relatively current. This one isn’t that great to tell you the truth, but I had to point this out (and I’ll probably point it out again in a future post). Most mainstream pop will only do a cover if either 1. someone from original band dies or 2. everyone forgets about the song.  I haven’t seen this kind of gusto since Morrissey’s Everyday is Like Sunday cover (which I remember ended up with the original version on the same top 100 songs of 1994 list at KROQ). Tori Amos’ Nirvana and Depeche Mode covers get an honorary mention here.

Well, that’s it for now.

*I’d like to thank Spinner.com and their free Mp3s for keeping me awake long enough to write until the wee hours of the morning. Keep it coming!

Leave a Reply

